Kazakhstan, is a country located partly in Asia (88% of the area) and partly in Europe (12% of the area – areas west of the river Emba), formed in 1991, as a result of the disintegration of the Soviet Union. Kazakhstan is the world’s largest country entirely surrounded by land and the ninth largest country in the world; its territory of 2,724,900 square kilometres (1,052,100 sq mi) is larger than Western Europe. It has borders with (clockwise from the north) Russia, China, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, and Turkmenistan, moreover adjoins a large part of the Caspian Sea. The terrain of Kazakhstan includes flatlands, steppe, taiga, rock canyons, hills, deltas, snow-capped mountains, and also deserts. With an estimated 17 million people as of 2013 Kazakhstan is the 61st most populous country in the world, but its population density is among the lowest, at less than 6 people per square kilometre (15 people per sq mi). The capital city is Astana, where it was moved from Almaty in 1997.